How to remove shortcut virus on flash drive

I have encountered this one already and all my files turned to shortcuts. I was thinking to format my flash drive but this will delete my important files stored in my flash drive. I tried to scan it with my anti-virus but then it did not remove the virus. So, I searched for the solution over the Internet and I tried it and it worked!

By following the steps I know you will remove the shortcut virus in your flash drive and get your files back.

So here’s what I did:

If you did not reformat your flash drive, then check whether the files are not in hidden mode.

First step:

Click the link below and download the file “AutorunExterminator”

http://en.kioskea.net/download/download-11613-autorun-exterminator – I got this from kioskea.net  (source)

After downloading the file:

  • extract it
  • double click on “AutorunExterminator”
  • plug your flash drive

By double clicking the “AutorunExterminator”, this will remove the autorun.inf from your flash drive and also from the drives.

Second step:

Click on start >>>run >> and type cmd and click OK or press windows+r.

Let me assume that your flash drive as G:

After that enter this command.

attrib -h -r -s /s /d g:\*.*

Or simply copy the command and right click on command prompt and paste it.

Take note: Don’t forget to change the letter g with your flash drive letter.

After copying the above command press enter.

And then check your files in your flash drive.

Third Step:

After completing the second step download the Malwarebyte’s Anti-Malware.

Here it is: http://en.kioskea.net/download/download-105-malwarebytes-anti-malware –  I got this from kioskea.net  (source).

Update the anti-malware and perform full scan.

Remove your flash drive and insert again. If you can see shortcuts separated from your files then you have successfully followed the instructions. You can also skip the third step and delete all the shortcuts manually.

I hope this will help you.

Posted on September 5, 2011, in Computer tips and tricks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

